Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

How your child will be learning?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge, and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.
  • Personal, social, and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the world.
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. We encourage independence whilst teaching and supporting your child, we will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it is suitable for young children, and it is designed to be flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


Parents are eager to know and understand their child’s development. We can share a child’s observations with parents via email, increasing your involvement in our activities at the time the activity happened, give, or take a day or two. Parents can login and access Famly from their phone or PC, they can add comments and interact with their key person. They can even add their own observations from home – giving a whole picture of a child’s development – home and school.

Famly App

Famly App Logo